You are not connected. Please login or register

How you got started

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 How you got started on Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:57 pm

HAIRDO

This topic is about how you got started playing Yu-Gi-Oh

My Story-

Back in 2001 I watched the Original series on CW I think so by Christmas season I had asked for a GameBoy Advance video game called Eternal Duelist Soul . I had planned on starting playing it on the 26th but ended up opening and playing it around 11:50 pm . The following Spring they came out with the first 2 starter decks Kiaba and Yugi , I ended up using the best of both for my first real world deck.

2 Re: How you got started on Tue May 14, 2013 8:24 am

t3st3rd3ck

Administrator
I started by watching the show and thinking it was cool, so about the time Joey was trapped in a cave and fighting that kid with the zombie deck, I started learning the rules of the game and bought my first starter decks and etc.

I REALLY love/loved strategy games, so I really got into duel monsters. For those of us in middle school when it came out it was a nice little corner of nerdom that could escape from most of the pre-adolescent BS of that age group. I didn't worry about petty stuff when I played, I could just lose myself in this game. When I quit dueling I transferred this same mentality to chess.

I was never very good, i had my own strategy and eventually played a pretty decent beatdown and 1 sack for power cards deck (jinzo and summoned skull) but never was great. This was a lot to do with the fact that my family never had much money, so I didn't own a lot of cards. I made due with what I had.

Most of my good cards were won from games (when battle city was on TV, gambling was all the rage) I eventually quit because dueling for cards became too stressful and I got mad when someone would back out of a deal (I always gave up my cards when I lost).